Spain. One day in Madrid.

After a layover in Lisbon I had one day in Madrid before heading to Seville. Madrid is a huge city with lots of things to do, but the city center is quite small and walkable so it’s possible to squeeze a lot of things into one day.

I started my day with a walk through the city center to Federal Cafè in Malasana. I loved this café when I first visited in May last year and also loved their locations in Barcelona and Valencia. I had Eggs Benedict, iced coffee and fresh orange juice which is just the perfect vacation breakfast:

breakfast-at-federal-cafe-madrid

Afterwards I visited the Atocha train station at the south-east end of the city center. The old station was turned into a tropical garden and serves as a waiting hall for the new part of the station built right behind it.

Atocha-Tropical-Garden-madrid

Nearby is the CaixaForum on Madrid’s museum mile Paseo del Pardo. Caixa Forum has locations in Barcelona, Sevilla and a few other Spanish cities. Apart from the exhibition I really like the building itself, the architecture (Herzog & de Meuron!) is amazing: the staircases, the café upstairs and especially the green wall outside.

staircase-at-CaixaForum-Madrid

CaixaForum-Cafe-Madrid

green-wall-CaixaForum-Madrid

My next stop was Madrid’s large city park Retiro. As much as I love a good city park in summer, fall and Indian summer are just the best times to visit. Just look at all the beautiful fall colours:

Cristal-Palace-Retiro-Madrid

Within Retiro is a Cristal palace that hosts exhibitions curated by the Reina Sophia museum. On view was (and still is until April 2018) “Palimpsesto” by Colombian artist Doris Salcedo.

Palacio-de-Cristal-Retiro-Madrid

After walks through the park, lying in the sun for quite a while (almost 30 degrees!) and listening to the jazz combo at the lake, I walked over to Plaza de Cibeles and the Palacio de Comunicationes. The stunning building  (formerly the main post office -hence the name) hosts a cafe, reading areas, exhibitions and an observation deck. I already blogged about in 2013. It is also home to the city hall since ten years.

Palacio-de-Communicationes-Madrid

Outside an interactive artwork was being set up: #WeAreNarciuss by Franc Aleu and Joan Bofill. It looked really cool – you can see all of the pictures on Instagram.

We-are-Narcissus-artwork-Madrid

My next stop was the abandoned metro station Chamberi (also called Anden 0)which opened in 1919 and closed 1966. It was on my Madrid to-see list for long, but their short opening hours never corresponded with my time in Madrid within the last years. My favourite part of the old metro station were the old signs and advertising:

Chamberi-abandoned-metro-station-Madrid

abandoned-metro-station-in-Madrid

My last stop for the day was Templo de Debod, an Egyptian temple just a short walk from Plaza Espana. It’s on top of a hill and therefore the perfect spot for sunset watching.

Temple-of-Debod-at-sunset-Madrid

sunset-at-Templo-de-Debod-Madrid

Afterwards I had dinner in the basement restaurant of the Salvador Bachiller shop on Gran Via. I had seen it before on Instagram and wanted to check it out. It’s half a beautifully decorated and plant filled restaurant, half kitschy tiki bar. I loved it! 😆 Next time I’d like to check out the “secret” roof top garden on Calle Montera.

Salavador-Bachiller-restaurant-Gran-Via

Slavador-Bachiller-dinner-Gran-Via-Madrid

After dinner it was time to head to the bus station. Sevilla was next!

Plaza-Espana-Madrid-sunset

 

2 thoughts on “Spain. One day in Madrid.

  1. Great how much you can fit into a day just strolling and looking. My style, though I probably stop to eat less. 🙂 🙂 Love that station entrance with all its greenery. What a good-looking city! Many thanks for the share. 🙂

Leave a Reply

