Portugal. A 8-hour layover in Lisbon.

Steep-Street-Graca-Lisbon

On my way to Madrid last week I had a 8-hour long layover in Lisbon, Portugal. After storing my luggage at the airport I took the metro to the city center and had about 5 hours left before I had to return to the airport.

Rossio-square-Lisbon

I had a late breakfast a Nicolau, a super cute new café in the downtown neighborhood Baixa. I chose the Nicolau pancakes with raspberries and mascarpone – super delicious! The coffee comes with sugar packages with little sayings, I like those small details.

breakfast-at-Nicolau-Lisbon

Nicolau-Lisbon-Baixa

Afterwards I took the tram No. 28 up to the Alfama and stopped by Portas do Sol to enjoy the view:

Tram-No28-in-Lisbon

Portas-do-Sol-view-Alfama

The I walked over to Patio de Dom Fradrique – a small area of ruins and abandoned houses with lots of graffiti and random art installations. It’s so worth going there and explore a little bit.

Patio-de-Dom-Fradrique-Lisbon

streetart-Patio-de-Dom-Fradrique-Lisboa

Patio-de-Dom-Fradrique-ruins

My next street art stop was the neighborhood Graça to see a new mural there: a collaboration between Vhils and Sherpard Fairey. On my way I walked past Vhils’ “mural” of Fado singer Amalia Rodrigues:

Vhils-Amalia-mural-Alfama-Lisbon

Then I found the collaboration piece on Rua da Senhora da Gloria and it was all kinds of amazing:

Sherpard-Fairey-Vhils-ObeyGiant-Collaboration-mural-Lisbon

And I also walked past this cute “fairytale” mural:

Fairytale-mural-in-Graca-Lisbon

From Graça I walked downhill to Largo do Intendente, a small square I came to know and love last year. The shop A Vida Portuguesa is probably the prettiest shop I’ve ever been to, there are so many cute details:

A-vida-portugesa-Largo-do-Intendente-Lisbon

A-vida-portugesa-Largo-do-Intendente-Lisboa

A-vida-portugesa-Largo-do-Intendente

Afterwards it was time to get back to the airport to fly to Madrid. I loved the caricatures of famous Portuguese in the newly opend metro station:

Aeroporto-Metro-Art-Lisbon

 

 

2 thoughts on “Portugal. A 8-hour layover in Lisbon.

Leave a Reply

