My travels in 2016.

January

Rome

In January I spent a weekend in Rome. It was my first visit to the eternal city and definitely not my last! I loved how walkable the city center was and at every corner there was something to see: churches, fountains, monuments, markets, and so much more!

My highlight: The MAXXI Museum for Art of the XXI Century in a spectacular Zaha Hadid building.

Where I Stayed: The Place In Rome – I can highly recommend it!

Read the full recap here.

triton

March:

Brussels

For March I booked super cheap flights from Brussels to Miami (300€ return) and that gave me the opportunity to spent a weekend in Brussels beforehand. I had been there numerous times as a child with my parents but hadn’t been back in over a decade. Brussels is such a gem and often overlooked – unfortunately not only by other but also by me. I loved my time in the city and hope to come back more often in the future – it’s less than 2 hours by train from Cologne!

My highlight: Cook and Book – a bookstore with a restaurant. Such a good mix.

Where I  stayed: BRXXL 5 CITY CENTRE HOSTEL

Read the full recap here.

Cook Book BrusselsSouth Florida

From Brussels I flew to Miami and then went to West Palm Beach to visit a friend for a week. We spent time in Downtown West Palm Beach, relaxed at Okeeheelee Park, visited Delray Beach and the Wakodahatchee Wetlands, shopped in Boca,  went to Fort Lauderdale for St. Patrick’s day and visited Wynwood in Miami. A perfect week!

My highlight: the new murals in Downtown West Palm Beach – especially the Albert Einstein mural by Kobra at Subculture Coffee.

Read the full recap here.

delray-beach-florida

May

Madrid

I had a 21 hour layover in Madrid on my way to New York and spent most of the time eating: at Mercado de San Anton, Federal Café, Mercado de San Miguel and the Gourmet Experience at El Corte Ingles.

My highlight: the view along Gran Via from the top floor of El Cortes Ingles. One of my favourite streets in the world.

Where I stayed: Hostal Sonsoles

Read my full recap here.

Gourmet Experience Gran Via view

New York

I spent two weekends in New York: The first one mostly in Brooklyn and the second one on and around the Bowery.

My highlight: First Saturday at the Brooklyn Museum. Free admission after 5 pm and concerts, talks, movies, panels and DJs. It’s my favourite event in NYC.

Where I stayed: International Student Residence in Williamsburg, Brooklyn and The Bowery House in Manhattan.

Read the recaps here and here.

Williamsburg NYC

Chicago

I wanted to visit Chicago for many years and I’m so happy I finally got to do it this year. I loved everything in the city: the art, the architecture, the food, the people, the parks, Lake Michigan, the river and the “L”. I cannot wait to go back and experience more of it – hopefully in summer or for Lollapalooza.

My highlight: the sunset cruise on the lake –  it was spectacular! No wonder it’s called Americans most beautiful skyline.

Where I stayed: Urban Holiday Lofts in Wicker Park – I loved it.

Read the full recap here.

Calders Flamingo in the Loop

June

Paris

I went to Paris for my birthday and revisited old favorites like the Fondation Louis Vuitton and La Recyclerie and new ones like Tour Montparnasse and the Bercy Village.

My highlight: walking along canal des Saint Martin and stopping at Pavillion des Caneaux for lunch and Le Comptoir General for coffee.

Where I stayed: Hotel Du Globe 

Read the full recap here.

Galerie Vivienne Paris

Italy

Just one day after returning from Paris I flew to Italy to see the Floating Piers at Lake Iseo. I stayed in Bergamo and had one extra day  which I spent in Milan at the canals in Navigli and Hangar PirelliBiococca.

My highlight: The Floating Piers – the reason for this trip. Even though the train journey took twice as long as planned and it was a bit overcrowded, walking on water from the shore to the island and onto the next island was one of the most memorable experiences of this year.

Where I stayed: in a B&B in Bergamo

Floating Piers Sulzano

July

Stockholm

In July I flew to Stockholm for 2 days. It was my first visit to Sweden or any Scandinavian country. As much as I enjoyed the experience and have nothing really to complain about – the weather was nice, the city ist pretty, the people were very friendly and the food was great – I didn’t become a fan. Mostly due to the fact that it’s very similar to Germany but up to twice as expensive.

My highlight: The Yayoi Kusama exhibit “In Infinity” the Moderna Museet. I’m totally fascinated by her art and especially her infinity rooms.

Where I stayed: Generator Stockholm

Read the full recap here.

yayoi-kusama-hymn-of-life

August

Budapest

In August I visited Budapest for the first time and fell in love with it: the thermal baths, the beautiful buildings, the friendly people, the metro (second oldest in the world), the old coffee houses and hip new coffee shops, the ruin bars. I cannot wait to go back this year and explore more of the city!

My highlight: Lunch and dinner at Mazel Tov – the food, the drinks, the service, the interior: everything was perfect.

Where I stayed: Gellert Hotel

Read the full recap here.

budapest-parliament-sunset

Lagos

At the end of the month it was time for our annual trip to Portugal and the first stop was Lagos – my favourite town since 25 years!

My highlight: The beaches!

Where I stayed: Dona Ana Garden

lagos-portugal-praia-do-camilo

September

Lisbon

After our time in Lagos we spent 4 days in Lisbon and explored many new places, bars and shops. Lisbon is changing so much these days: it’s fun and scary to watch at the same time.

My highlight: Staying at and exploring Largo do Intendente.

Where I stayed: Largo Artist Residencies

lisbon-golden-hour

Berlin

From Lisbon we flew to Berlin to catch up with friends and had the best weekend. The weather was amazing the whole time and we got to spent most of our time outside. Summer in Berlin is so special – it made me absolutely happy.

My highlight: the day we spent at Schlachtensee. So relaxing!

Where we stayed: All In Hostel in Friedrichshain.

berlin-jr-streetart

December

Barcelona

My last trip of the year was to Barcelona. As a triumphant finale to this year full of travels I treated myself with a comfy room, lots of great food, drinks and coffee.

My highlight: Visiting Tibidabo and the amusement park for the first time. So much fun! And the views!

Where I stayed: Casa Gracia – I loved it!

Read the full recap here.

Leave a Reply

