Barcelona. Travel plans for a weekend in December 2016.

Next week I’m heading to Barcelona for 3 days. It’s my 5th visit to the Catalan capital and I can’t wait to explore more of this city that has grown so much on me during my last visit in March 2013. I’ll be staying in Gracia, a neighborhood I fell in love with. Here’s what I’ve planned so far:

Barcelona Placa de la Vila de Gracia

Visit:

  • Casa Battló – one of Gaudi’s masterpieces. I have visited Casa Mila ( La Pedrera) and Parc Güell already, so Casa Battlo and Sagrada Familia are still on my list.
  • Tibidabo – an old amusement park on top of a hill, even though it’s not the best time of the year to visit an amusement park.
  • Palau Musica Catalana – a modernism concert hall.

Take the view from:

  • the Bunkers del Carmel
  • the aforementioned Tibidabo
  • the bar Mirablau

Eat & Drink:

  • at Mercat Princesa– a tapas market in an old palace
  • great coffee at Syra Coffee or Onna Coffee in Gràcia
  • Meatpacking Gracia – New York style in Gràcia
  • at Federal Café – I loved it in Madrid
  • and lots of tapas and cerveza.

Shop:

  • Palo Alto Market – a hipster hotspot in Poblenou
  • at Encants Flea market – the oldest flea market in Europe

Walk along:

  • Passeig de Gràcia with all its pretty buildings and hopefully lots of Christmas decorations
  • along the beach from the old port to Gehry’s gold-fish

IMG_1646

 

Leave a Reply

