Lisbon. 10 new spots to try.

I have been to Lisbon numerous times but there is still so much I haven’t seen or done. With the city rapidly changing and new bars, shops and sights (re)opening all the time, my Lisbon bucket list grows longer by the week. Every time I’m in Lisbon I try to cross some things off that list while still having enough time to see and do all the things I already know and love. Tese are the new (to me) things I’ve done and seen this time:

1. The new restaurant at LX Factory: Rio Maravilha

There is a new restaurant at the LX Factory: Rio Maravilha – on the top floor of the main building of the factory. The view from the rooftop terrace is just breathtaking and the interior is super cool and stylish. We didn’t get to try the food when we visited because they had a private reception so im eager to go back and try it out.

and a new artwork by Bordalo II

I am a huge fan of portuguese street artist Bordalo II since I first saw his racoon artwork in Belem last year. He creates his 3D artworks out of trash and paint, which is so unique in my opinion. There are a few more of his animals in Lisbon which you can see in this blogpost and check out his other works on his facebook page.

//

2. Lemonades from Pedal A Gosto

I had read about Pedal A Gosto years ago but never ran into one of their lemonades-on-bikes stands until now. This year I found them at Miradouro Sao Pedro de Alcantara and in Belem in front of Mosteiro Jeronimos. You can choose between small or large cups, lemonade made with still or sparkling water and then add sugar, mint, ginger or green tea on your own. I always choose a large lemonade made with still water, a little bit of sugar and some mint. So tasty and refreshing!

//

3. Pensao Amor

Another spot I heard and read so much about is the former bordello turned into a bar by the fitting name “Pensao Amor”. It has two entrances: one from Rua do Alcerim and one from the pink street (Rua Nova de Caravalho). There a many different rooms: with seating, a stage or a pole, a little sex shop, a little library with sex books and also a small terrace at the Rua do Alcerim entrance. The drinks were really good and you can also order some snacks. Definitely a new favourite!

//

4. The MAAT Museum

MAAT is the new museum in Belem for art, architecture and technologies. The new building was still under construction when I visited in September (it’s open now!) but I had a look at the building site and these photos and it looks absolutely amazing in my opinion. Modern, sleek and it doesn’t blight the landscape. Parts of the MAAT exhibition are in the Museu da Electricidade (Electricity Museum) next door and that’s what I visited this time. We had already been there 2 years ago to see Vhils exhibit “Dissection”. I cannot wait to visit the new building next year! It will have a roof terrace and steps leading down to the river – I’m sure its gonna be amazing.

//

5. The worlds sexiest toilet

While at Praca do Comercio we visited the world’s sexiest toilet. While I’m not sure whats so sexy about this toilet, it sure is a great, clean and spacious public toilet right in the city center and therefore worth a recommendation. And you can choose your own toilet paper colour, what more can you ask for?!

//

6. Amoreiras 360 Degrees

This year a new observation deck opened: the 360° on top of the Amoreiras shopping center offering – as the name suggests – a 360° degree view over the city. Lisbon has quite a few viewpoints (which are mostly free of admission) but a trip to the Amoreiras deck is still worth it since its located in the north of the city while most miradouros are located in the south and close to the river. From back there you’ll get a different view and can see all over Lisbon.

//

7. Murals at Picoas station

I had seen many pictures of the 3 houses with large murals online in the past, but couldn’t really figure out where they are. On my way from Campo Grande to Amroreiras I spotted them out of the bus and quickly got off the bus at the next stop to get a closer look. The artworks by Blu, Ms Chat, Os Gemeos and others are really breathtaking. They are located right next to the Picoas Metro station (that got an entrance from the Parisian metro – Paris got a tile mural for one of their stations in exchange).

//

8. Something N’Ice ice cream sandwiches

I found this spot on Instagram and had to go there since I love a good ice cream sandwich. You can choose the ice cream, the cookies and the topping yourself and it costs 3,5€. The ice cream was average, but the peanut butter cookies were absolutely delicious! I’m craving one right now! The small shop is located outside the center on R. Dr. João Soares close to the university and Campo Grande.

//

9. Coffee at Fabrica Coffee Roasters

Another spot I found prior to this trip on Instagram. I love me some good iced coffee or preferably cold brew and they have really good ones. They also offer sandwiches, salads, cakes and pastries and a cool interior with lots of wood, comfy chairs and sofas and also some outdoor seating. I visited the café on Rua das Portas de Santo Antao (near Restauradores), but meanwhile the opened a second café on Rua das Flores in Chiado.

//

10. Palacio do Chiado

Palacio do Chiado is new food market in a former palace on Rua do Alcerim in Chiado. There are 7 different food vendors on 2 levels and a large bar and dining room on the ground floor. The building itself is gorgeous and the food (I tried “Local Chiado”) was great, but somehow I wasn’t as impressed by the whole experience as I thought I would be. Time Out Market in the old Mercado da Ribeira at Cais do Sodrè and Embaixada in Principe Real are better options than this one.

Leave a Reply

