Chicago. The Millenium Park.

BP Pedestrian Bridge Chicago

As mentioned in my Chicago recap the Millenium Park was what made initially think about going to Chicago and it did not disappoint! This was one of the very rare moments where I took pictures with my camera instead of my phone (I had packed the wrong battery charger, so I had to use the left over power wisely), so I can do a proper post about the park and its features.

Jay Pritzker Pavilion Chicago

Any place with a Gehry building is my kind of place and Millenium Park has even two of them: The Jay Pritzker Pavilion and the snakelike BP Pedestrian Bridge which connects Millenium Park with the nearby and also amazing Maggie Daley Park. Both are – typical for Gehry- made of stainless steel and do look absolutely gorgeous when the evening sun reflects on them. How I would love to visit Chicago in summer and see a concert at the Pavilion!

Jay Pritzker Pavilion Chicago 2

Jay Pritzker Pavilion Chicago lawn

The Bean Millenium ParkThe Bean aka Cloud Gate

The large sculpture “Cloud Gate” by british artist Anish Kapoor is – due to its shape –  better known as “The Bean” and definitely a landmark of Chicago these days. So much fun to see the reflection of the nearby skyscrapers and of course oneself. This is selfie heaven!

Cloud Gate Chicago

And then: The Crown Fountain! When thinking about visiting Chicago I had always envisioned myself running through the fountain barefoot, trying to cool of a bit on a hot summer day. Well, that wasn’t exactly the case when I visited but nevertheless this fountain amazed me and I visited it on all three days.

Crown Fountain Jaume Plensa Chicago

The fountain – created by Spanish artist Jaume Plensa – is made of two large columns that display faces of Chicagoans and every once in a while the mouths opens to pour out water. So much fun to watch! Especially at night when the water on the ground reflects the faces on the columns.

Crown Fountain Millenium Park Chicago Crown Fountain Millenium Park

All of my posts about Frank Gehry buildings are here, Anish Kapoor here and Jaume Plensa here.

Leave a Reply

