NYC. Markets: Hester Street Fair and L.I.C. Flea & Food

Hester Street Fair NYC

One of my favourite past-times in New York is visiting one of the many flea and/or food markets on the weekend, such as the Brooklyn Flea, Smorgasburg or Hell’s Kitchen Flea. During my last visit I got to visit the Hester Street Fair on the Lower East Side and the LIC Flea & Food in Queens for the first time and loved both of them.

Hester Street Fair Lower East Side NYC

The Hester Street Fair is pretty small compared to other markets; there are only about 20 vendors plus a few food stalls but it’s still a great place to spend you Saturday afternoon. I tried fried rice balls with a spicy sauce from Zhà and I’m still thinking about them regularly. I’m also still thinking about the leather tote I saw there and didn’t bought and have major regrets. :-/

Hester Street Fair Zhà

The fair opened again this April and runs every Saturday from 11-17 until October. Closest subway stops are Delancy, Grand Street and Bowery. More info: http://www.hesterstreetfair.com/

 

LIC Flea and Food

Shortly before my trip to NYC last year I read about the LIC Flea & Food. And because I’m a bit of a fan of Long Island City I knew I had to see it and make time for it on my already jam-packed itenery for my first weekend in the city.

LIC Flea & Food in Queens

The market is located at 5-25 46th Avenue in LIC, close to my beloved Gantry Plaza State Park. As the name suggests it features clothing & furniture vendors as well as food vendors. My favourite part of it was the beer garden – something I’ve been missing at other flea or food markets.

LIC Flea & Food beergarden

The LIC Flea & Food runs every Saturday and Sunday from 11-17 until October. Clostest subway stops are Court Square or Vernon Blvd/Jackson Ave. More info: http://licflea.com/

I can’t wait to revisit those to markets during my upcoming trip. Additionally I’m trying to find time (vacation: so busy! so exhausting! 😉 ) to visit the new Smorgasburg & Brooklyn Flea locations in Prospect Park, at Grand Army Plaza and in Dumbo.

One thought on “NYC. Markets: Hester Street Fair and L.I.C. Flea & Food

Leave a Reply

