Recap. A weekend in Brussels.

Brussels Kunstberg Galerie Brussels 1Brussels 2

Before I flew to Florida in March I spent 3 days in Brussels. As a child and teenager I visited Brussels many times and always loved it but I hadn’t been back in about 15 years! So of course I took the time to see most of the tourist attractions, such as Kunstberg/Mont des Arts (photos 1&2), Galleries de Saint Hubert (3), the Atomium (4), Passage du Nord (5), Grand Place (6&9) and the Comic Strip museum (7).

Here are my highlights of this weekend:

 

Cafe du Sablon Peck 47 brussels

Cafe du Sablon (Rue de la Régence 26) was the best café I visited during my stay: I loved their iced coffee (so hard to find good iced coffee here!), free wi-fi, vintage furniture and especially the seats at the window to people watch.

Another place I fell in love with was Peck 47 in the city center. I went there twice: once for breakfast and once for dinner and loved the food both times. Additionally they have a great tea selection and home-made lemonades.

Comic strip mural Comic mural in Brussels

The cute comic strip murals can be found all over the city and show famous comic book heroes. The above two can be found at Rue des Bons Secours (1) and Rue du Marche au Charbon (2) and here‘s a map that shows the exact location of every comic strip mural in Brussels and Laeken.

img_3254St Gilles Brussels

I went to St. Gilles to get some Portuguese treats (Pasteis de Nata at Forcado) and fell in love not only with the cute cafe but also with the whole neighbourhood. Apart from the beautiful old houses there were so many cute and hip shops and cafes, such as Hinterland and Parlor Coffee. The Horta Museum is also close by.

Cook Book Brussels  Hankar metro

I had first read about Cook & Book many years ago in a list of the best bookstores around the world (here’s a similar one), but somehow rememberd it as a bookshop for cookbooks. While they do offer cookbooks the name comes from the concept of having a restaurant within the bookshop. I had a salad and lemonade there while starting to read the book I had just bought there. Such a great concept!

On my way to Cook & Book I took the the wrong metro line and got to see the beautiful “Hankar” station which features a huge mural by Belgian painter Roger Somville.

Elevator sunset from Place Poelaert

I also loved Place Poelaert! From there you have the best view over the city, you can even see the Atomium in the distance. It is especially nice during sunset and I’m sure it’s a great place to relax in summer. Also: there’s a lift that takes you up to the square from the Marolles and it is free!

 

During my time in Brussels I stayed at Brxxl 5 City Center which I really liked. My single room was spacious & clean, the staff was friendly & helpful and it’s only a 10 minute walk to the center or the Brussels Midi train station.

Leave a Reply

