Recap. A week in South Florida.

At the beginnig of March I spent one week in South Florida visiting a good friend of mine who moved there a couple of years ago. I got super cheap flights (300 € return!) with Jetairfly from Brussels to Miami.

Wakodahatchee Wetlands Delray Beach

On my first full day there we visited the beautiful Wakodahatchee Wetlands in Delray Beach where we saw all kinds of birds (Wakodahatchee is part of the Great Florida Birding Trail), a few turtles and an alligator! Afterwards we went to the beach in Delray and strolled along Atlantic Avenue.WPB & Ft Lauderdale

In the following days we visited Okeeheelee Park in West Palm Beach, had great pizza in Lantana, went shopping in Boca Raton and drove to Fort Lauderdale for the St. Patricks Day Parade.

Murals Downtown West Palm Beach

One of my highlights of this trip was seeing all the new murals in Downtown West Palm Beach created for Canvas WPB in 2015. One of my favourite street artist – Kobra from Brasil – created two artworks (photo 3&4) – I loved his mural of Albert Einstein at the super cute coffee shop Subculture Coffee on Clematis Street. His other mural can be found at the cinema on Clematis, the two murals above (photo 1&2) are at Wine Scene on Fern Street.

Wynwood Walls Miami

My favorite day was when we drove to Miami to visit the Wynwood Arts District. I had heard and read about it and the famous Wynwood Walls after I visited Miami in 2010 and wanted to go there ever since, but never made it until now. And I’m so glad we went this time! We spent hours walking around the neighborhood looking at all the streetart (so much to see everywhere – quite overwhelming!), visited cute shops, had burgers at The Bar Next Door and really great coffee from Panther Coffee.

Wynwood Miami

Next time I’m in Florida I definitely wanna revisit Wynwood – there’s still so much we haven’t seen. We also made plans to spend a weekend in Key West or Disney World – so I can’t wait to go back to Florida!

Before my flight back from Miami Airport I got to see the public artwork “Harmonic Convergence” by Christopher Janney at the MIA Mover Station:

Miami airport art

Unfotunately I missed Jen Stark’s mural at the airport – but that’s just another reason to go back!

2 thoughts on “Recap. A week in South Florida.

Leave a Reply

