My 10 travel highlights of 2015

Even though I’m a little bit late to the party I still wanna recap a bit of 2015 before heading into 2016 and all the amazing trips that are already planned and booked (more about that in the next days). Here are the 10 things I loved during my visits to NYC, Madrid, Milan, Portugal and Cape Town:

10. Café da Garagem in Lisbon 

The Café da Garagem is located in Lisbons historic Alfama district, high up the hill so that you’ll have the most beautiful view over the city’s rooftops. The cafe has such cute vintage furniture and decor and serves delicious cakes and coffee. I’ll definitely come back there over and over again.

 

09. The Cherry Blossoms in NYC and Bonn 

I think I’ve never seen that many cherry blossoms in bloom as I did in 2015! First I visited Heerstrasse in Bonn: the narrow cobble stoned street is famous for its cherry blossoms that almost form a pink roof over the street when they are in full bloom. In NYC in May I was lucky to see the cherry blossoms at the Brookly Botanical Garden in full bloom. The peak bloom is usually in mid to late April but due to a long and cold winter they were late. Good for me!

08.  Three days in Carrapateira 

This cute village has been a favourite of mine since I first visited it in 1999. We used to take day trips from Lagos to Carrapateira and its beaches but since the bus service between Sagres and Carrapateira was disabled a few years ago this is no longer possible without renting a car. This year we decided to just take a cab from Sagres to the village and stay in Carrapateira for three nights before taking the overland bus to Lisbon.

 

07. Mercado de Motores in Madrid

I flew to Madrid after spending a week in NYC an hopping from one market to antoher (Brooklyn Flea, Hester Street Fair, Chelsea Market, LIC Flea & Food and Madison Square Eats). I thought I had just seen the best of markets, but Mercado de Motores really swept me off my feet: there was such a good vibe, a good mix of clothing, furniture, decorations and food & drinks. Plus the location for the market is the Museo del Ferrocarril, a museum for old trains in an defuncted trainstation. The booths were set up along the train tracks inside and outside – definitely the best flea market location I’ve ever seen.

06. Navigli neighborhood in Milan 

This cute neigborhood is often called “the Venice of Milan”, which is -in my opinion-  a bit exaggerated: the two canals in Navigli can’t really rival a city built in the sea. Yet I had the best time walking around this neighborhood, drinking coffee, watching people and visiting the nearby “Mercato Metropolitano”: a streetfood and farmers market at Ponta Genova.

05. Target First Saturdays at the Brooklyn Museum

This has been my favourite experience in NYC this year. On the first Saturday of the month the Brooklyn Museum is free of admission from 5 pm on and there are – in addition to the ongoing exhibits – performances, movies, talks, workshops and much more. I got to see, listen and dance to Juliana Huxtable – who was simply amazing!

04. The penguins at Boulders Beach 

Probably the happiest moment of my Cape Town trip. I was looking forward to that for a long time and the cute little fellas did not disappoint! I so wanna go back and spend some more time there!

03. Beautiful Spring weather in NYC in May 

While it was still cold and grey at home in Germany, the weather in NYC was just perfect spring weather and therefore the perfect weather for sightseeing. Not too hot, not too cold, a little bit of rain on one day but enough sunshine on the next to justify a trip to Coney Island. I couldn’t have been luckier.

02. Porto

 

Every time I visit Porto I fall in love with this city a bit more. Even though the weather can be tough (and change in a second) and the hills are really, really steep – Porto is the perfect city for a weekend trip. It’s walkable, there’s a lot to do and see, it’s cheap, the people are super friendly and the food is great. And since we didn’t get to visit the Serralves Museum & park and the Mercado do Bolhao this time I have a good reason to go back soon!

01. Cape Town

 

Not only a visit to a new (to me) city but also my first time in Afrika. Before the trip I thought I’ll  have enough time to see everything there is to see and do in Cape Town and, oh boy, was I wrong! I got to see and do so much (some photos here and here) but yet there is still so much I haven’t seen or done. And even though I’m a city girl by heart, this time the nature really got me: the most beautiful beaches and coast line, the hills and mountains always as a backdrop, the crystal clear water, the most beautiful botanic garden I’ve ever been to, … . I’m already planning of going back and also travel around South Africa a bit more – I’m definitely hooked!

3 thoughts on “My 10 travel highlights of 2015

Leave a Reply

