Italy. 3 days in Milan.

For my birthday last week I bought myself tickets to Milan for a short weekend trip. It was my 3rd time in Italy and first visit to Milan. The famous Duomo, its square and the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II were unbelievably beautiful. The mosquitos ( I got 20 bites within the first hour there!) and importunate selfie-stick sellers not so much.

My favourite part of Milan was definitely the Navigli District with its two canals. It was less touristy and therefore peaceful and beautiful. A little Amsterdam within Milan:

I also loved the old trams that still rattle through the center:Near the Navigli District, at Porta Genova train station, is a new and uber-hip farmers and street food market called “Mercato Metropolitano” – definitely worth a visit (or two):

In the evening of my second day I visited the Expo that takes place in Milan until end of October. While the day ticket costs about 40€, the evening ticket (sold after 7 pm) is only 5€ and gives you three hours to explore the fair. If you’re seriously interested in the Expo and seeing all the pavilions that is not enough time, but for me it was a good deal.

My love for bagels led me to the California Bakery twice. Such a shame to be in Italy and have American food but I was craving bagels ever since I left New York and can’t find decent ones here in Germany. If you’re in Milan and crave bagels, cookies or cupcakes I definitely recommend the California Bakery:

On my third and last day I took the train to Como to relax at the Lago di Como. The train takes only 35 minutes and costs about 10€ return and brings you from the hot and crowded city to the calmness of the lake and the surrounding mountains:

The perfect end to a wonderful trip!

I flew into Bergamo airport and left from Malpensa airport, both are connected to Milans central train station by buses that run every 20 minutes (6-10€ one way). The train station in Milan is gorgeous, yet a bit confusing. Better plan in some extra minutes if you’re taking a train or bus from there.

My hotel was conveniently located near the Loreto metro stop and getting around in Milan by public transport was cheap and easy to navigate.

All pictures taken with Instagram: @stadtflaneur

2 thoughts on “Italy. 3 days in Milan.

  1. I spent a day, probably more like an afternoon, in Milan some years ago but didn’t get out of the touristy areas or to Lake Como so I enjoyed your photos.

Leave a Reply

