NYC. Food diary.

A few places where I ate within my 10 days in NYC at beginning of May:

(1) A blueberry-mint lemonade from Lizzmonade which I picked up at the LIC Flea& Food – they also have a shop in Brooklyn Bridge Park.

(2) A chocolate chip & walnut cookie from Levain on the Upper Westside. $4 for a cookie – and so worth it!

(3) I usually have a bagel for breakfast: In Brooklyn I like to go to the Olde Brooklyn Bagel Shoppe at 645 Vanderbilt Avenue in Prospect Heights or The Pulp & The Bean at 809 Franklin Avenue in Crown Heights. In Manhattan I love Bagels on the Square in the West Village.

(4) Doughnut Plant does have my favourite doughnuts: the peanut butter & jam filled square ones! Sooo good! The now have a location in Brooklyn at 245 Flatbush Avenue and two in Manhattan: one on Grand Street and one on 23rd street.

(5) I stopped by the Little Cupcake Bakeshop in Prospect Heights several times, it’s such a cute coffee shop & bakery. They have two other locations: one in Park Slope and one in Manhattan on Prince Street in Nolita.

(6) Habana Outpost is famous for their grilled corn and Cuban Sandwich and their outdoor garden on Fulton Street in Fort Greene is just wonderful in spring. Their Manhattan location is also on Prince Street in Nolita.

(7) The best ice cream I’ve ever had in NYC: salted crack caramel form Ample Hills Creamery on Vanderbilt Avenue in Prospect Heights

(8) My all-time favourite grilled cheese: the “Three Cheese” from Milk Truck. They’re usually at Brooklyn Flea and Smorgasburg on the weekends and have food trucks in Manhattan – check their website for exact spots and times.

(9) A soda from Brooklyn Soda Works at the Brooklyn Flea in Williamsburg.

(10) The best cupcakes: Georgetown Cupcakes on Mercer Street in SoHo. I had a salted caramel cupcake and it was amazing.

(11) I had dinner at Madison Square Eats one evening: a salad with chicken form the Hongkong Street cart.

(12) Breakfast at Wafels&Dinges in the East Village. It’s their first brick & motar cafe, they have several food trucks all over Manhattan and a kiosk at Bryant Park as well. The “wake up, grumpy” (with bacon, cheese, eggs and maple syrup) was delicious – some of their other creations are too sweet for me but this was a good mix of sweet and savory.

Food in NYC

A few more places (not pictured):

Shake Shack for burgers and fries. Unfortunately their Madison Square Park location was still closed for renovations so I visited the shacks in the Financial District and the new one in Dumbo.

Dough – my second favourite doughnuts. I usually pick one up at one of the flea markets on the weekend, but they also have two shops: one in Manhttan and one in Brooklyn.

Chelsea Market: Always worth a visit and so much to choose from. I like Amy’s Bread and the Manhattan Fruit Exchange.

Hester Street Fair has so many good food vendors. I had the fried rice balls from Zha Pan and they were amazing.

And I finally bought a cupcake at the Sprinkles Cupcake ATM on Madison Avenue. Their red velvet cupcake used to be my favourite until I tried Georgetown Cupcakes. But it’s still worth the trip uptown.

Speaking of red velvet: the “lovelet” ice cream sandwich from Melt Bakery is so yummy. I had one at Madion Square Eats but they have  a shop on the Lower East Side and carts all over Manhattan for example on the High Line.

And speaking of food on the High Line: The Taco Truck and Blue Bottle Coffee at the 15th street are always a good idea.

Furthermore I drank way more iced coffe than I’d like to admit and stopped by Whole Foods (at Columbus Circle or Houston & Bowery) quite a few times: their salad bar is really good if you’re looking for food to take to the next park or in my case: the rooftop garden of my hostel.

 

 

One thought on “NYC. Food diary.

Leave a Reply

