NYC. Recap and favourite Instagrams. May 2015 – Day 6-10

Whitney Museum view

On Wednesday after I had breakfast at Chelsea Market, I visted the new Whitney Museum. The museum just opened its new downtown location in the Meatpacking District, right next to the High Line on Friday May 1st. There was a long line outside the museum and I prepared myself to be waiting to get in for at least one hour, but the line moved quickly and it took only about 20 minutes. The new Whitney building was designed by star architect Renzo Piano – my favourite part of it are the terraces overlooking the neighborhood and the colourful chairs of Mary Heilmanns “Sunset” on the lowest terrace.

Afterwards I walked along the High Line to 15th street to pick up tacos at The Taco Truck and a Blue Bottle coffee and sat down at the 10th Avenue Square to enjoy one of my favourite views. Unforunately it started to rain and  I quickly escaped to the nearby Chelsea Market. Later on I went to Soho for some window shopping and a coffee and cupcake at Georgetown Cupcakes on Mercer Street. Hands down one of the best (if the not the best) cupcake I’ve ever had!

In the late afternoon I headed to Madison Square Park to see the new public art being installed: “Fata Morgana” by NY-based artist Teresita Fernandez:

For dinner I went to the streetfood market “Madison Square Eats” (until end of May and back again in September) and had a salad with chicken form the Hong Kong Street Cart and a ice cream cookie sandwich from Melt Bakery which both were delicious.

On Thursday I started my day right with a walk over to Vanderbilt Avenue to have breakfast at the Little Cupcake Bakeshop and then picked up a Agua de Horchata (a Cinco de Mayo special) at Doughnut Plant on Flatbush Avenue.

From there a walked through Park Slope for a while before taking the F train to Coney Island.

Coney Island mural

It felt so good to be back at the beach and just being lazy all afternoon, strolling along the boardwalk and lying in the sun. Coney Island is such a rad place: I love to come back whenever I’m in New York and the weather is good enough. The Luna Park was still closed (they only open on the weekends in May) but that didn’t bother me at all. I enjoyed the peace being away from the city and all its noise for a while.

For the sunset I went to DUMBO and Jane’s Carousel and pebble beach at Brooklyn Bridge Park:

Friday was my last full day in NYC (insert sad face). I visited the Public Library in Midtown which I haven’t done since my first trip to NYC. The building was just as gorgeous as I remembered it and the photo exhibit of William Meyers “outer boroughs” was breathtaking. Black & white photographs taken between 1990 and 2008 in all of NYC boroughs except for Manhattan. It’s still on view until end of June – check it out if you can!

Afterwards I relaxed in the sun in the overly crowded Bryant Park and had a late breakfast from Wafels&Dinges. I was suprised to find them there, what happend to the ‘wichcraft shops? After walking through Midtown for a while I went to Central Park where I spent the rest of the day, mostly reading and snoozing in the sun on Sheep’s Meadow.

Sheep's Meadow

For my last evening in the city I picked up some food at Whole Foods at Columbus Circle and sat at the Revson Fountain at Lincoln Center. The fountain is also one of my go to places in New York to relax, read and people watch and while it’s pretty during the day it’s even prettier at night:

Revson fountain at night

My last day in NYC: another walk through the neighborhood to Vanderbilt Avenue, one last cinnamon raisin bagel for breakfast, a walk to the Atlantic Center and through Fort Greene and then a visit to the Brooklyn Flea. The fleas location on Saturdays is so much nicer than on Sundays in my opinon and I finally got my favourite grilled cheese: the “Three Cheese” from Milk Truck. It’s soooo good – 3 cheeses and caramelized apples!

Afterwards I visited Long Island City in Queens once again to spend some more time at the Gantry Plaza State Park and visit the blockparty on Vernon Blvd.

After a quick snack hat Habana Outpost back in Fort Greene I had to pick up my suitcase and head to JFK.

Luckily I didn’t have to fly home but had another 2 days in Madrid to look forward to!

3 thoughts on “NYC. Recap and favourite Instagrams. May 2015 – Day 6-10

  1. What an exciting visit. The one and only time I’ve visited NYC was not a good experience and I’m looking forward to going back some day when I can be a “tourist.” In the meantime I enjoyed this tour.

Leave a Reply

