NYC. Recap & favourite Instagrams. May 2015 – Day 1-5

Bowery

I just came back from my trip to New York and Madrid. For the first 3 nights I stayed at the Bowery House: a former flop-house now turned into a stylish hostel. The rooms (cabins) do not have a ceiling and only thin walls but the price (~$75/night) and location are unbeatable. I loved their rooftop garden and the views along the Bowery:

New Museum on the Bowery

On Saturday – my first full day in NYC – I walked around SoHo, Little Italy, Nolita and the Lower East Side and visited the Hester Street Fair and later on the block party at the new Whitney Museum in the Meatpacking District. After a walk along the High Line I took the subway over to Queens and visited the LIC Flea & Food. I picked up some food and a lemonade (from Lizzmonade – so good!) and walked over to the nearby Gantry Plaza State Park which is one of my favourite places in New York.

In the evening I visited the Brooklyn Museum for the first time and loved it. It was Target First Saturday with free admission after 5 p.m. and concerts, workshops, talks and films in addition to the ongoing exhibits. The Kehinde Wiley “A New Republic” exhibit was amazing and it’s still on view until May 24th. I spent most of the evening in the entrance hall and watched Juliana Huxtable play music and it was soooo good! Here’s a little video:

🔊🎶🎶 #brooklynmuseum #targetfirstsaturday #brooklyn #nyc @julianahuxtable

A post shared by 🚶🏼 (@stadtflaneur) on

On Sunday i walked over to Father Demo Square and bought a bagel at Bagels on the Square which I discovered during my last trip and then sat in Washington Square Park listening to the piano man for quite a while.

Afterwards I visited the Brooklyn Flea in Williamsburg. While I still love the market I’m not too fond of their new location at Kent Avenue. 😦

The afternoon was spent at Roosevelt Island where the cherry blossoms on the promenade were in bloom- it was really pretty:

On Monday I walked around the East Village for a while and had a yummy breakfast at Wafels & Dinges. I got really sunny and hot that day so I walked over to SoHo to buy me some new sandals since I didn’t bring any.

After lunch on the rooftop garden I picked up my suitcase and moved to Brooklyn. I had stayed in the area twice before and it felt really good to be back in “my old neighborhood” of Crown Heights and Prospect Heights.

I spent the afternoon sunbathing in Prospect Park and the evening at the Brooklyn Museum Plaza, which has quickly become one of my go-to places in the neighborhood just to chill, people-watch and get free wifi 🙂

The next day I visited the Brooklyn Botanic Garden to see the cherry blossoms. After a long and cold winter the blossoms were late this year and jsut came out a few days before I visited. The cherry walk and the cherry blossem esplanade were unbelievably beautiful:

Later on I visited Battery Park at the southern tip of Manhattan and the 9/11 memorial. I had been to the memorial before; in 2012 when you still needed a ticket to access the memorial. And even though it’s so nice that there is no ticket needed anymore, no more control of bags and stuff and everyone can just visit as they please: the memorial somehow a meeting point for people who love selfies and their slefiesticks and that left me with an icky feeling. I had made plans to visit the 9/11 museum but the lines were so long (free admission on Tuesday afternoons), so I decided to come back another time when it is less crowded.

Bofore heading home I stopped by the Brooklyn Heights Promenade to watch the sun go down behind the lower Manhattan skyline:

Leave a Reply

