Los Angeles. I love Downtown.

DTLA Chinese Museum

I recently read this article about the renaissance of Downtown LA in which the author states:  “The first time I ever loved L.A. was Downtown”. The first time I ever loved LA was 2 years ago in Venice Beach (as documented here and here), but the second time it was Downtown.

I had visited Downtown on one afternoon 2 years ago and I really liked it, especially the Walt Disney Concert Hall and Grand Central Market, but I had only seen so little of what DTLA has to offer. This time I got to see Union Station, Olvera Street and El Pueblo de Los Angeles, Civic Center and the new Grant Park (which was still a building site 2 years ago), the Historic Core, Broadway and its theaters, Little Tokyo and the Arts District.

From the polished and modern Grand Avenue, to Broadway, that resembles old New York, to the social disaster that is Skid Row and the uber-hip Arts District: the huge amount of things to do and see and the big differences between the districs -which are yet so close- blew my mind and still fascinates me. What I liked most about DTLA is how walkable it was, such a rare thing to find in LA!

Since I’m back I spent my free time reading all I can find about Downtown, how it used to be, what todays hotspots are and how it’s presumably going to be in a couple of years due to its gentrification. I keep daydreaming of a trip back to LA, to revisit favourites from this year and explore places I haven’t seen this time such as the LA river, the FIDM Campus & Museum, the Fashion District and Chinatown.

DTLA La Plaza Cultura

^^ La Plaza de Cultura y Artes ^^

DTLA City Hall

DTLA Sister Cities sign

^^ The sister cities sign next to the City Hall^^

DTLA bank

DTLA Little Tokyo

^^ The watch tower in Little Tokyo ^^

DTLA Grand Central Market

DTLA Pershing Square and Skyline

^^ The bank skyscrapers rising behind Pershing Square ^^

DTLA Los Angeles Theater

DTLA Broadway Theater

^^ The Tower Theater, the Rialto Theater -now home of a Urban Outfitters Store- and the Orpheum Theater on Broadway ^^

DTLA Orpheum

DTLA Figueroa Hotel

^^ touring Downtown during the golden hour was the prettiest thing ^^

DTLA Jesus Saves sign       DTLA

DTLA Staples Center

DTLA, I’ll be back!

#dtlalove

Leave a Reply

