New York. Recap and favourite Instas.

After my week in Florida I flew to New York for 3 days, where I stayed at the wonderful Jane Hotel in the West Village. The rooms are teeny tiny, but equipped with everything you need and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Even though it was slightly over my budget (120$ per night) I loved my stay there and the convenient location helped me make the most of the short time I had in NY.

The Jane New York

On the first day after checking in I went to Chelsea Market to pick up some food for lunch (I love Amy’s Bread and the Manhattan Fruit Exchange) and headed to the High Line for a little picnic and a stroll. Later that day I took an art walk along the 3rd section of the High Line, which will open to the public later this year. Afterwards I visited the Hell’s Kitchen Flea and then hopped on the L train to visit the combined Brooklyn Flea / Smorgasburg in Williamsburg. In September 2012 when I first visited Smorgasburg I had the best grilled cheese of my life and I was craving one ever since. Luckily MilkTruck are still a part of Smorgasburg and their Three Cheese Grilled Cheese was sooo delicious.

NYC Day 1

[ 1. overlooking 10th Avenue from the High Line // 2. DVF HQ seen from the High Line // 3. at Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market // 4. Eduardo Kobra’s mural in Chelsea // 5. on 10th Avenue // 6. in Williamsburg // ]

Brooklyn Love Building

On my second day I walked from the Jane all through the West Village to Father Demo Square and bought a bagel at Bagels on the Square. I had found their address on Yelp and had no idea how good their bagels and the various cream cheeses are. I had a whole wheat everything bagel with strawberry cream cheese and it was definitely the best bagel I’ve ever had! Afterwards I continued my walk through the Village, to Astor Place, down the Bowery and through SoHo, Little Italy and the Lower East Side. In the late afternoon I took the subway over to Brooklyn to see the Brooklyn Love building, the Atlantic Center and Barclay’s Center. My day ended with a burger and “irish fries”- fries topped with horseradish cream, scallions, and crispy bacon- at Shake Shack in Madison Square Park.

NYC Day 2

[ 1. Audrey hepburn by Tristan Eaton in Little Italy // 2. the Hello, I love you stairs in SoHo // 3. those views! // 4. Little Italy // 5. Washington Mews // 6. Jeff Koons’ red rabbit at Astor Place//]

NYC2

I started my third and final day in New York with breakfast at Bryant Park and then visited the  Morgan Library and Grand Central Terminal -where I picked up a slice of cake from Junior’s- and then walked along Park Avenue to see “Park Avenue Paper Chase”, an exhibition of seven large sculptures by Alice Aycock between 52nd and 66th Streets. At 60th street I turned right and walked over to the Roosevelt Island Tram station and headed over to the island. I had plans of visiting Roosevelt Island for quite a long time, but somehow never got to do it. The southern tip of the island was peaceful and quiet and perfect for an afternoon stroll, but unfortunately the new Four Freedoms Park was closed because it was Tuesday. Later back in Manhattan I wanted to spent the last hour I had in the city at one of my favorite places: the Revson Fountain at Lincoln Center but a Game of Thrones premiere was held there that day, so there was no chance to get to the fountain. I quickly dicided to take the subway down to Cristopher Street and walk though the West Village. The sun was about to set and everything was golden and pretty and it was the perfect end to three wonderful days in NYC:

NYC Day 3

[1. on Roosevelt Island // 2. Bryant Park // 3.Grand Central Terminal // 4. on 5th Avenue // 5. golden hour in the West Village // 5. Lower Manhattan seen from Pier 51 //]

2 thoughts on “New York. Recap and favourite Instas.

Leave a Reply

