5 days in Los Angeles. Recap and favourite Instas. Part II.

After leaving Venice Beach, I moves to Hollywood where I stayed at Hollywood Hostel on Schrader Blvd, just off Hollywood Blvd and the famous Walk Of Fame.
After leaving Venice Beach, I moves to Hollywood where I stayed at USA Hostels Hollywood on Schrader Blvd, just off Hollywood Blvd and the famous Walk Of Fame.
While Hollywood might not be the most interesting or prettiest part of Los Angeles, its a good place to stay, since there are many affordable hotels or hostels and the Metro Red Line connects Hollywood with Downtown Los Angeles.
While Hollywood might not be the most interesting or prettiest part of Los Angeles, its a good place to stay, since there are many affordable hotels or hostels and the Metro Red Line connects Hollywood with Downtown Los Angeles. Furthermore many sightseeing tours and buses depart from the Walk Of Fame or Dolby Theater.
On my first afternoon in LA I took the metro downtown and visited Grant Park, the Walt Disney Concert Hall and MoCA - the Museum of Contemporary Art, which is free on Thursdays after 5pm.
On my first afternoon in LA I took the metro downtown and visited Grant Park, the Walt Disney Concert Hall and MoCA – the Museum of Contemporary Art, which is free on Thursdays after 5 pm.
On my second day I bought a ticket for the Hop-on-hop-off-Bus that connects Hollywood with Beverly Hills, the Miracle Mile, Fairfax and Melrose. The bus leaves in front of the Dolby Theater and drives along Sunset Strip to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. Since I had been there last time I visted I stayed on the bus until we got to LACMA, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.
On my second day I bought a ticket for the hop-on-hop-off-bus that connects Hollywood with Beverly Hills, the Miracle Mile, Fairfax and Melrose. The bus leaves in front of the Dolby Theater and drives along Sunset Strip to Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. Since I had been there last time I visted I stayed on the bus until we got to LACMA, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.
At LACMA I saw public artworks like "Urban Light" by Chris Burden and "Levitated Mass" by Michael Heizer. In the museum I saw the James Turell retrospective, the Calder exhibit and DVFs "Journey of a dress".
At LACMA I saw public artworks like “Urban Light” by Chris Burden and “Levitated Mass” by Michael Heizer.  The museum itself is huge and quite overwhelming and it’s impossible to see everything in on visit. I chose to see the James Turell Retrospective and DVFs “Journey of a dress” exhibit, which I both loved. Furthermore I saw Metropolis by Chris Burden, an huge steel artwort by Richard Serra, the “Calder and Abstraction” and the “Futebol” exhibit.
After LACMA i hopped back on the bus and revisted the Grove and had luch at Farmers Market.. Back in Hollywood, I hopped on the bus that tours Downtown LA: from Chinatowen to Olevera Street, the Music Center, Historic Core and Fashion District. On the way from Hollywood to DTLA we drove by McArthur Park,  where I took the picture above.
After LACMA I revisted the Grove and had luch at Farmers Market. Back in Hollywood, I hopped on the bus that tours Downtown LA: from Chinatowen to Olvera Street, the Music Center, Historic Core and Fashion District. On the way from Hollywood to DTLA we drove by McArthur Park, where I took the picture above.
On Saturday, ma last day in LA, I had breakfast at Eggslut in Grand Central Market. I had heard so many good things about it and it did not disappoint!!
On Saturday, my last day in LA, I had breakfast at Eggslut in Grand Central Market. I had heard so many good things about it and it did not disappoint! Yummy!
After breakfast I visited the Bradbury Building, the Public Library and the watercourt at California Plaza. Then I picked up a blueberry-mint lemonade at Lemonda at MoCA and relaxed on the rooftop garden of the Walt Disney Concert Hall. The garden might be my favourite spot in all of LA and the concert hall is definetly my all time favourite Frank Gehry building.
After breakfast I visited the Bradbury Building, the Public Library and the watercourt at California Plaza. Then I picked up a blueberry-mint lemonade at LemonadeLA at MoCA and relaxed on the rooftop garden of the Walt Disney Concert Hall. The garden might be my favourite spot in all of LA and the concert hall is definitely my all time favourite Frank Gehry building.
Later that day I headed to the Arts District. It's not really a walkable neighborhood and at times I got Lost and felt a little bit unsafe, since I was the only person walking around. But seeing all the huge murals and finding coffe spots like the Novel Cafe on Traction Ave and a shop like Urban Radish made it all worth it. The above mural - by Ron English- is right next to the Urban Radish Market.
Later that day I headed to the Arts District. It’s not really a walkable neighborhood and at times I got lost and felt a little bit unsafe, since I was the only person walking around. But seeing all the huge murals and finding coffe spots like the Novel Cafe on Traction Ave and a shop like Urban Radish made it all worth it. The above mural – by Ron English- is right next to the Urban Radish Market.
Before I had to pick up my suitcase and head to LAX, I had dinner at Umami Burger on Cahuenga Blvd. Unfortunately it was kind of a let down, maybe I just had herad too many good things about it and my expectations were too high, but I didn't looove it. I might give it another try next time Im in LA. Speaking of next time in LA: there are sooom many things I wanted to do, but didn't had the time to do it, like visiting the Watts Towers, Grammy Museum, Heritage Square, the LA Brewery Arts Complex, the City Hall Obersevation deck,,..., and not to forget all the place I visited and can't wait to see again. Another trip to LA is definitely on my mind!
Before I had to pick up my suitcase and head to LAX, I had dinner at Umami Burger on Cahuenga Blvd. Unfortunately it was kind of a let down, maybe I just had heard too many good things about it and my expectations were too high, but I didn’t looove it. I might give it another try next time Im in LA.
Speaking of next time in LA: there are sooo many things I wanted to do, but didn’t had the time to do it, like visiting the Watts Towers, Grammy Museum, Heritage Square, the LA Brewery Arts Complex, the City Hall Observation deck,,…, and not to forget all the place I visited and can’t wait to see again. Another trip to LA is definitely on my mind!
Leave a Reply

